top of page

Hard Work Pays Off


We have all had days when we wonder whether the job we are doing is really making a difference, right? It can't just be me... When I really dig deep and think about what I do each and every day (even though this is usually different from one day to the next) I know that I am doing what is needed for the teachers and students I serve. There are even small victories along the way. However, when your influence is confirmed by someone other than yourself, the feeling of pride is on another level!

Not long ago I had a conversation with the principal of one of my schools. He was telling me about an observation that he had completed in a certain teacher's class. He talked about how much this teacher has improved from the previous year (her first). We talked about a few specific things that were observed and I agreed with his evaluation. What he said next was completely unexpected. I'm kicking myself for not remembering his exact words but it was something like, "this growth is because of you and the work you have done with her." This was a very proud moment for me! The truth is, I do not do the work I do to be recognized in this way...but we all enjoy some praise and confirmation from time to time. I also recognize that these results are not just because of me. It takes a motivated teacher who is willing to take chances, and even fail, while not giving up and pushing forward. Don't worry, I didn't take all of the credit. That's not who I am. I told him that it wasn't just me. She and I planned, I provided the ideas, and she did the work. THAT is who I am. I give credit where it is due.

This teacher is great. Remember my post about the Literacy/Technology Mini-Conference? She was one a presenter at the first one. She is exactly who I described above-motivated, willing to take chances, takes failure like a champ and tries again and again. Her motto is "Teach Me Something New." She is constantly telling me this-even using it as a Twitter hashtag.

So, why is this important?

Well, recently I/we received another confirmation "gem". Back in November this teacher attended a national foreign language convention in Boston (ACTFL). When she returned she immediately contacted me to tell me all about it. "This conference was huge and it was great!", she said. "I learned this and this and that! You have to go! We need to present what we have done together because there was nothing like it available. What do you think?" I was excited to hear all about it and very proud that she felt like the work we had done deserved to be showcased. So, I agreed. We began planning a proposal that would highlight some of the most successful tools and strategies that we have been implementing. In January our proposal was completed and submitted. Two days ago we received an email that our proposal had been accepted and we will be presenting at this year's conference in Nashvillle, Tennessee! Perhaps, my proudest moment yet. Proud that my district will be represented on a national level and extremely proud to be a part of it. If you are going to be there, stop by and see us!

Again, this is not just about me. It is about the successful work she and I have done together. Recognitions like this do, however, encourage me and give me confirmation that I am on the right path. My approach and my ideas are making a difference-even worthy to share with other educators across the nation.

My hope is that I am able continue this work with other teachers in order to impact as many teachers and students as I possibly can.

bottom of page