top of page

New Tools and Ideas from NCTIES


I missed posting last week due to spending all of my time at a conference. So, I thought I would include information on the conference this week.

North Carolina Technology in Education Society (NCTIES) is a state conference that is held every March in Raleigh, NC. I have attended this conference for the past several years and I always look forward to it.

Before going any further, I must say that this was the best year yet! For the last two years I have attended as a member of the North Carolina Digital Leaders Coaching Network (NCDLCN) with the Friday Institute. (Side note: My original post regarding PD at the Friday Institute was posted on their website yesterday. Check it out HERE.) This is just one more reason why I love the Friday Institute and being a part of this program.

NCTIES...a great time! Part of what I enjoy about NCTIES is the opportunity to spend time with fellow members of the NCDLCN and colleagues whom I work with every day. It is nice to relax, build or strengthen relationships, and share ideas on how we plan to implement our new discoveries.

This year was extra special to me as this would be my first time presenting at a State conference. A colleague, whom I work closely with, co-presented with me. We showcased student work from her class during a 1-hour playground session. (Check out the photo gallery!) All of this work was the product of what she and I have been planning throughout the year-coding, programming, and game design-with 6th grade students. Some of the programs and devices featured were Floors, Bloxels, Swift Playgrounds, Piskel, Scratch and Makey Makey. We were not even able to finish setting up before people began stopping by to check us out. It was wonderful to be able to share our work and ideas with others. It was also reassuring to see that we were on the right track in terms of teaching essential skills and preparing our students for the future.

Aside from the playground/showcase, the sessions I attended were very worthwhile. I also had the privilege of attending this conference with two other colleagues-a middle school science teacher and a high school librarian/media coordinator. I work closely with both of these educators as well and they are both at the top of their game. Next week will be our annual District Mini-Conference. They will both be presenting. (I plan for this to be next week's topic).

As far as sessions that we attended, some of the top presenters and tools are listed below. Check them out!

Opening Keynote: Jennie Magiera (Twitter) - wonderful speaker, very inspirational

Darren Hudgins: People Tell All Kinds of Stories

BreakoutEDU: This was one of my favorites. The 4Cs were working overtime on this one!

Bringing Gamification to the Classroom: Self-paced, challenging, and more

Lucas Gillispie: (Twitter) - Why Badges Aren't Enough - It was great to get fresh ideas on how to improve what I am already doing with badging/micro-credentialing for PD.

George Couros: (Twitter) - He is actually the author of one of the books from our NCDLCN book study-The Innovators Mindset.

I would love to give you more information on each of these, however, that would make this more of a book than a blog.

If you ever get the opportunity to attend NCTIES, I highly recommend it

My next conference will be national....ISTE this summer! I am anxious to hear and meet even more great educators. I am sure some of the ones from this list will be there.

bottom of page