top of page

GCS is going GREEN!

A green screen is something that we have had access to for a couple of years. (If you aren't sure what it is, I encourage you to watch my video) We usually encourage our students to be creative and choose their own tools for presentations. A handful of students have been up to the challenge of attempting the green screen feature in iMovie and have taken advantage of our setup. Some of these students have even created some pretty impressive work. I think this is something that has limitless possibilities and have really wanted to see more of it.

At our last STEM meeting, the Director challenged all STEM teachers to step outside their comfort zone and choose something fresh and new to integrate. Green Screen was one of these options. Since then, several teachers have reached out to me and scheduled time to have me present to their class. I have to admit, I have done a lot of traveling between my schools this week with so many teachers interested in this....and I have loved it! I have presented to a couple of 8th grade classes, and all high school grades this week. There are challenges being being completed in science, social studies, English, and even Spanish classes. I have really enjoyed experiencing the excitement that these student have when I explain to them what the green screen is used for and show them before and after examples of how it is used in movies. My favorite part has been to issue my own challenge to the students who I know have already used this feature. Their challenge? Step it up. It will not be enough for you to superimpose a new background. See how much more you can do. I will also be checking in on these classes and choosing the top production in each.

They have already shared ideas that I never would have thought of. Isn't that what it's all about?

Check out the gallery to see some of these students in action!

bottom of page